Allegheny Chapter

The Allegheny Chapter of the BMW Car Club

Loading Events

« All Events

How Brakes Work – Live Stream Tech Session

March 6 @ 1:00 pm - 3:00 pm

March 6, 2021
10:00 AM PT |  12:00 PM CT | 1:00 PM ET
Roughly 90 minutes of content live streamed with 30 minutes of Q & A
Please RSVP so we have an approximate headcount to paul@mbcapghchapter.com
You can log in from any web browser at: meet.google.com/opr-krax-zbc

Overview:

  • Basic theory behind how brakes work
  • How do parking brakes work?
  • Key inspections and warning signs of impending failure
  • Different braking components – how do I tell when it’s time to replace them and what choices do I have?
  • How to safely work on brakes
  • Basic steps involved in renewing a disc-brake system
  • What if I decide to attend a track day?
  • Advanced Topic #1: Anti-lock Braking Systems (ABS)
  • Advanced Topic #2: Dealing with older high-mileage (especially rusty) vehicles
  • Advanced Topic #3: The latest technology – carbon brakes
  • “Zen and the Art of Car Maintenance”

Presenters:

  • Paul Bowman, Ph.D. – ~45 years of experience in automotive maintenance/repairs/restoration with a focus on European classics. Member of BMWCCA Allegheny Chapter since 2003. Current BMW: 1995 318ti. Past BMWs include 1998 M Roadster and 2002 330i.
  • Alexander Bowman, BS Mechanical Engineer, Vehicle Dynamics Chassis and Brakes at Honda of America Manufacturing. Also Allegheny County Chapter member. Current BMWs: 2005 BMW M3 Competition Package, 1988 325ix

Details

Date:
March 6
Time:
1:00 pm - 3:00 pm